Tooth Structure

The structure of the tooth is made up of four parts: enamel, dentin, cementum, and pulp. Enamel is the hard, white surface you see when you view the tooth. It is mostly made of minerals. Dentin is the substance between enamel or cementum and the pulp chamber. Dentin is softer than enamel, decays more rapidly and is subject to severe cavities if not properly treated, but dentin still acts as a protective layer and supports the crown of the tooth. Cementum is a specialized bony substance covering the root of a tooth and lies between the dentin and the pulp. The dental pulp is the central part of the tooth filled with soft connective tissue. This tissue contains blood vessels and nerves, and therefore, is commonly referred to as “the nerve” of the tooth.

For more information on the structure of your teeth, please click here.


Dr. Mishaan and his staff would be happy to discuss bonding with you. Please feel free to call (212.730.4440) our office for a private consultation, or schedule an appointment with Dr. Mishaan.